Skip to main content

Control Channel Access and Manage Viewers

info

Invite-only  Channels and Viewer Registration are available on the premium and enterprise plans.

By default, newly created  Channels are public and available to be viewed by anyone who has the link. You can enable Viewer Sign-In to restrict access to your Channel, track individual viewer activity, or both.

Enabling Viewer Sign-In

Click into your Channel from the  Channels page, then select the Audience tab. Click Enable viewer sign-in and choose between open registration or invite-only access.

Open Registration

Select Anybody can sign in and access this channel's videos and click Save.

Viewers will be presented with a registration form to access your Channel. After entering their name and email address, they will receive a confirmation email to complete the registration process — ensuring that only genuine viewers can access your content.

You can also use the invite functionality to send direct invitations to specific viewers.

Invite-Only Access

Select Viewers will need to be invited before they can sign in and click Save.

Viewers will be presented with the same registration form, but if they have not been invited to the Channel they will not be able to complete the registration process. Use this mode to limit access to a pre-approved list of viewers.

tip

You can switch between open registration and invite-only access at any time by clicking the  Settings button on the Audience tab. You can also disable viewer sign-in completely by clicking Turn off viewer sign-in — historical registered viewers are preserved in case you re-enable it later.

Inviting Viewers

Once Viewer Sign-In is enabled, click the Invite new Users button to invite viewers. There are two ways to invite viewers: manually, or by importing a list.

Enter the viewer's details into the form and click Send invitation. An invitation email will be sent to the viewer with a link to sign in.

Screenshot of an email invitation to sign into the Employee Onboarding Gallery

The Viewer Experience

When an invited viewer clicks the link in their invitation email, they are taken to a passwordless sign-in screen. They enter their email address and are sent a one-time login code.

After entering the code, the viewer gains access to the Channel. If they select Remember me, they will not need to sign in again on that device for 60 days.

Managing Viewers

The Viewers pane on the Audience tab shows all registered viewers and their current status:

  •  Active — the viewer has been invited and has signed in.
  •  Invited — the viewer has been invited but has not yet signed in.
  •  Suspended — the viewer has been suspended.
tip

You can suspend or unsuspend a viewer at any time by clicking the icon and choosing Suspend viewer or Change to active.

Viewer History

Click the icon next to any viewer to see a history of their activity — each video they watched, the date, the number of times watched, and total playback time.

For an overview of channel-wide performance, see the Channel Reports page.